Shared images

By stew

War of

Always makes me think of War of the Worlds whenever I see this structure.

The sructure is the suppoting framework for a Gasometer (gas storage tank). At the moment the tank is empty and you can,t see it because its flush with ground level. When full it raise,s so that its top is above the support structure. I moved here 40 years ago, at that time natural gas was just getting going, we always assumed the tanks would be dissmantled however its still used sometimes. Its an Iconic landmark of where I live some would say a throw back to Victorian times.

This morning I was busy doing some preparation (filling holes etc) for gloss painting some woodwork, forgot about lunch and had to make do with an apple. Later on I wen,t for a swim after that the light was really poor.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.