madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Satisfying!

Another long day on the allotment. It started with the making of a net cover for my kale to stop the pigeons/rabbit  eating it. One guys very extensive beds of them had got completely defoliated! I lashed some old poles from my previous fruit cage and bamboo poles together then pulled my old fruit cage net over them. Standing back to admire my work I spotted a few holes so sewed them together with some bright green twine. As I did this I spotted more and more holes and remembered why I had replaced it as my fruit cage! Over an hour spent patching holes! 
I then got distracted from going to do my main job of digging the brassica bed by some dandelions! I've been noticing baby ones sprouting up from this years seeds and have been easily pulling them out. These ones were monsters however! Once I had completed doing a whole length of path I headed for the brassica bed! Each fork-full required picking up and shaking vigorously to free the soil from the couch grass roots, then the stray bits of root had to be handpicked out as were the stones! Very satisfying but very time consuming! The major problem were the old raspberry roots - extensive digging and pulling required there!
Brummie girl had arrived and I had a tour of her plot - she is fighting weeds in her beds - as newly created ones lots of dormant seeds have been woken up and it's hard to spot her plants between the weeds! I nearly asked her to check my back - the dress I had worn was rubbing me across my back as I dug and I had unzipped it a little, and I wanted to make certain it was that and not sunburn. Well I should have because on looking in the mirror when I returned home it was badly sunburnt where I had unzipped it!  In all my activity I had forgotten to apply suncream - first time this year - grrr! 
I dug about a third of the bed and then decided it was time to go eat properly! Having gathered some flowers and eating both wild and fat and juicy strawberries as I did so, I set off home - it was now 3 0'clock and I'd been there since 8! A personal best I think! Brummie girl had arrived at 12 and I'd spent 3 hours on my bed! It really didn't feel as if I'd been digging that long! I was shocked when I realised what the time was! 
The blip are my potato flowers - soon be time to lift them as they always get blight and after that no point staying in the ground - one of my favourite tasks! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.