Plus ça change...

By SooB

Light again

Brrrrr. Clear skies last night made for the coldest night of the year so far. I'm not sure it was quite frosty, but it was certainly a two-duvet night (in the absence of heating or a warm Scotsman in my bed).

Most of the day was spent huddling around endless cups of tea, trying to think of activities that would keep me warm; so I found myself washing up (warm water), washing skirting boards (ditto); and a certain amount of reading wrapped in a warm duvet... There were also more hours than seemed necessary huddled over a warm computer (in the end I gave in and put on my under-desk heater).

Conor has been having extra reading lessons after school, along with some of the other kids from his class. They seem to have a lot of fun, and the teacher always has some question or other for me after class - usually about something Conor has told them about Britain that they haven't quite understood ("Sausages for breakfast? Really?) but today was a word he hadn't understood - cornichon - which I had trouble translating as anything other than 'cornichon', or 'very small gerkin'. She seemed unnecessarily flattered that we use a French word for it (we do, don't we? Or is that just me?)

Anyway, the photo is very similar to yesterday's in style. I am a bit entranced by the light at the moment as the shadows lengthen and colours fade into autumn. I spent a fair amount of today sorting some photos out and, in looking through the evolution from when I re-kindled my interest in photography (2008), two things are clear: Firstly, I have certainly let things slide in the past year or two; secondly, I want to stop the slide. So, hopefully not so many lazy shots, fewer iPhone emergency blips and a bit more thought and exploration.

And blipping every day. On the day...

(Mostly.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.