Barbican architecture tour

Had a lovely slow start to the day, after a very busy week.  After some lunch, we headed into town and walked from London Bridge to the Barbican for the architecture tour (a perk of my instagrammer thing).  Excellent 90-minute tour, which I'd really recommend to anyone who has even a passing interest in architecture/the Barbican.  Learned some interesting facts which I'm doing my best to retain...!  

This area of the Barbican estate is called the Sculpture Court; beneath it is the main arts centre Hall, which was installed after all the flats had already been built and residents were in situ.  The floor here is the largest unsupported floor in the UK (bit worrying to learn that when you're standing in the middle of it in a big group and notice all the floors tiles are cracked....)  Last fact, the curved building here sits directly above the Curve gallery, where I took my photos of the Ann Van den Broek show the other day.

I'd been considering going to see a friend from work singing at an event in Bethnal Green this evening, but I was so tired on the way home I decided to skip it and stay home with Tim.  We treated ourselves to a Chinese takeaway and a very relaxed evening in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.