Daily Tales

By PamelaJ

Why?

Why is this old 40s/50 book directed only at girls. It's indicative of a time when books, toys, games etc were gender specific. What has changed? We seem to have gone full circle and pink for girls and blue for boys is still the order of the day.

This book is on my shelf along with all the books I have kept since my childhood. A social history? I think so. Interestingly, some of the stories in the books showcase dominant and empowering young women.

Is this a Silly Saturday contribution ? Am I the Silly one who keeps childhood books through house moves over the years. I haven't looked at this book for years. Blip Foto inspired me to take it off the shelf.

Thank you Admirer, for encouraging me to remember my childhood .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.