The Mob

The crew of the old C3.105, our old office.  Who's missing?  The photographer, of course!  From L to R = EU, IN, IS, EA, GU.

We so desperately wanted a day out together and it had to be on a non-working day.  I chose the date -- not too soon after exams, not too late so that half of us might already be on holiday.  We agreed on what kind of meals we wanted to eat, and EU took it upon herself to make an itinerary.  The original idea was somewhere away from Rotterdam, but we still ended up there because it was the most convenient and cheap.  EU's idea was a city tour with herself as guide as she knows a lot about the city and, in her own words, she enjoys storytelling.  I was the official photographer, and this was my favourite shot.  Curiously enough, it was taken on the Willemsbrug, the same bridge I walk on every day I have to go to the WTC.  We all met in front of Central Station in the morning and had our first coffee/tea nearby, then we went to the Delftse Poort, which I have already posted here, and then on through the Blaak area to the Cube Apartments, and from there to the 'Old Haven' and then on the Willemsbrug, then through the Kop van Zuid neighbourhood to the Hef Bridge, which I've also already posted, then through that renovated neighbourhood to the old Havenbedrijf office, which I've also already posted, and then with the water taxi back to the other side of the Maas, where we had a lovely dinner close to the Weerhaven (another really good restaurant I should take AW to one day), and then finally the walk back to Central Station.  I had parked my car close to the shopping centre and the Doelen Theatre so I didn't go back all the way to the station.  The day began cloudy but as we went on our tour the sun came out more and more, until it came out completely after our dinner, and so I had a lovely trip home.

I had left my phone in the car and checked it when I sat down again behind the wheel, and there was a missed call from AW, so I phoned him straight away to hear whatever it was, and he told me the good news that our niece finally got her passport back with the Schengen visa she needs to visit Europe ... HURRAH!  My weekend can't get any better.  Of course, that doesn't change the fact that I still have a massive pile of digital correction work to plow through before Monday.  No matter ... what a wonderful Saturday it has been!

A couple of extras for both you and me.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.