A Writer's Life

By Awriterslife

Garden party!

To be honest, I didn’t think I would go out. The boys aren’t sleeping much, so after a night during which I may have slept about 2 hours in 45-minutes bouts, I wasn’t so game to haul the kids to the car and manage it all. Outings are complicated when there are more kids than adults in charge, and i always feel keenly how outnumbered I am: oli goes one way, Henri the other, there’s food to manage and pee-breaks and separation anxiety. I figure however that it’s a sport, and I’ll get better at it with practice. And the invitation was so sweet, and involved some very, very nice people I appreciate a lot.

So off we went to my colleague E’s garden party. The boys had a blast, I enjoyed being with friends, the food was good and the conversation, refreshing. And I came home with both kids, after an evening where there were no tantrums or meltdowns. Can you say win?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.