Lizellens Lot

By lizellen

Sow Thistle or Puha

I was a bit late getting out for a walk this afternoon and the sky and light were bleak. The background colour is actually the water in the estuary. This weed made a brave little show on the side of the path.

I did witness something that I thought was a bit unusual. A solitary red billed seagull landed in the middle of the estuary, Another followed and another, until there were about 7 or 8 gulls floating out there. All together as a group, they started to splash and bathe, ducking well under and flapping wings as they surfaced again. Then one by one they started to fly off again as the remainder bathed, until there was a solitary gull left which in turn flew off too. I was left wondering why - why were they getting together as a group out in the middle of the estuary and why the bathing in unison?  It all happened in a short space of time. I took photos but not successfully. They were just a bit too distant and not doing anything that showed on camera as interesting. It has got me wondering though.

Progress is being made in the course I am doing but the exercises are killing me. I must have been more unfit than I thought.  So, onward and I will join you all again next weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.