Steve Kirkham

By SteveKirkham

New & Improved

I bought some scotch eggs the other day for when I get a case of the nibbles, you know what I mean, you're not hungry, you don't want a meal, you just want something to chew. It's a regular affliction for me, especially on a Sunday evening for some reason.

Instead of going for the usual sweet rubbish, I went for the savoury rubbish instead, scotch eggs because I can't find a decent pork pie.

The packet was marked “New Improved Recipe”. All I can say is, if this is the Improved Recipe, I hate to think what the Old Unimproved Recipe was like. They aren't dreadful or disgusting, just not very nice, so I won't bother again.

Have you noticed though, that when something is “New Improved” something or other, whether it's something edible or not, that the new version is just the same as, or worse, than the old, a bit like the McVities digestives I moaned about back in November, only they hadn't put a warning on the packet.

Why bother “improving” something that you've been selling for years and has made you a fortune, and has a loyal following.

I reckon that the only thing that's been improved is the profit margin because the producer has found a new supplier, and the product is no better than the original.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.