Helpet57

By Helpet57

The Mackintosh Building

I was a student at Glasgow School of Art from 1967 for five years and was in and out of the Mackintosh Building regularly over my working life as an art teacher.

I was in my first year there, at a time when Mackintosh was not yet well known among the general public, when I became aware of what an amazing building it was. The contrasts of dark and light, the unusual art nouveau design and nooks and crannies filled with surprising detail of rectangular shapes and curved line were all quite captivitating and different from anything I had experienced before.

Like so many others for whom it has been a part of their lives I am deeply saddened at what has happened to destroy this famous and unique building. Having seen it today, even at a distance, I can't imagine how it can rise from the ashes or even if it is wise to try to recreate a masterpiece.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.