Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Self-heal

I caught the train out to Gargrave so that I could explore a little and then walk the canal to Skipton, a stretch that I hadn't done before. 13yo, 10yo & I had done Fathers Day yesterday when it fitted everyone's schedules a bit better.

After mooching about the church yard and the river side I walked out to the canal at Priestholme Changeline (Bridge 168) which soon led to Priestholme Aqueduct (38) over the Aire. The waterway was quite busy, and there were several boats negotiating the locks on this stretch back into Gargrave.  

Out of town, Airedale opened up and Curlew, Oystercatcher, Canada Goose and Mute Swan filled the fields. One Common Sandpiper paused briefly by the side of the canal and Swallows and Swifts hawked over the water for almost the whole route. It was too dull for butterflies but I saw a few Banded Demoiselle, one Orange Ladybird and lots of mayflies.

Marking the journey mile by mile (extras) I had one final hazard to negotiate (extras) before leaving the towpath just by Skipton Station for my journey home.

My main image comes from the quiet stretch about midway between Gargrave and Skipton, where my eye was drawn to this nice patch of Self-heal at the waterside.  And of course self heal is what a day like today is all about; anxiety levels are high at the moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.