Here and Now

By Mole

Seeing Double

...digits...high today of 96F* (35C*) with high humidity. Not complaining though - no, no, no. Interesting to see the gable decoration detail and shadow on our next door neighbors’ house. Lots of doubles.

While working at my desk, something caught my eye out the window. I ran out for a quick snap of the tail end of the VeloSano. I was very disturbed to learn that a 26 year old cyclist was the victim of a hit and run this morning near one of our favorite blueberry farms. He was life-flighted to the hospital where he remains in critical condition. The driver has not been identified. He was probably seeing double when he fled the scene.

As a former long distance cyclist, this upset me. I had many close calls on country roads where teenagers, drunks, and yahoos thought it amusing to swerve their vehicles toward me, lay on the horn, and sometimes throw things out the window. I often rode for miles alone and was close to catastrophe in fields and ditches more than once. Young and fearless I was. And very very fortunate.

Be safe and please be doubly cautious with cyclists, even if they seem to be in your way. XX

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.