No Bienenstich

Bienenstich, which literally translated means "Bee Sting", is the name of a very well known German cakethat is topped off with honey. It's dreadfully full of creamy calories and tastes wonderful.

As my bees produced no honey yesterday, I was forced to try my hand at something else. A baked Lemon and Ricotta Cheesecake and also as an extra a "Lemon Confit" taken from Delia's version of such a cake. I didn't have the ingredients for Delia's cheesecake version.

The Confit which I had made the night before was not quite as good as I had hoped but was OK I probably should have stuck with my original plan to make homemade lemonade.

However, the cheesecake looked great, especially in the oven. Although the recommended cooking time was not yet up, I was worried it might burn at the time I took the photo, so reduced the temperature and then checked out the centre with a wooden stick which came out clean.

Took it out and wanting to try it while still warm (as recommended), cut out a slice and was a bit disappointed that the centre was still somewhat runny. However, it tasted like a dream and I then put it in the fridge where the runny bits got more solid and a later evening try showed it had set to a still very moist acceptable state.

So a success. just like the sting in the tail of Mexico's footballers this evening. Probably a good thing as the German team has been getting a bit arrogant of late. Not the dreadful arrogance of the England teams in the past 20 odd years which hopefully has now gone and the young team with few internationally known players, may for the first time start playing football instead of preening their celebrity images.

Even if England has a very easy group and they don't need it, I do wish them well for Monday's game and hope they progress a long way. It would be nice to have some truly world star quality players in England again playing in the normal league. I find it difficult to spot an English player or manager in the top English clubs. 

Spent most of the rest of the day trying to get myvegetable plot going again. I had tried using lots of very old seeds that did not germinate and lost weeks waiting. Teach me to a) use them up b) not leave them outdoors in winter.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.