Oversize Load--Northampton Center!

After voting this morning, we were driving home along Main Street in the center of Northampton's small downtown when I found myself alongside this huge truck. I captured it as it turned left into Gothic Street (see the map). Compare this similar vivid view of a Veterans Day Parade not quite two years ago.

I dropped Marylee to make a deposit at our bank, and then parked in one of the few free 15-minute parking spaces the town offers. I dashed over to find out what was going on. They're building a parking garage just down the block (first I knew of it) and this truck parked before his enormous beam was delivered. Unfortunately my 15 minutes (of potential blip fame??) did not permit me to wait for that, and when I walked back an hour later there was nothing more exciting to blip.

I'm posting this in the evening (at 20:15 or so). Both Marylee and I are on tenterhooks following the very preliminary election results--stay tuned. I will comment tomorrow :) I did spend another three hours at our nearby neighbors' phone bank, at which I heard that the Democratic candidate for the Senate in Massachusetts, Elizabeth Warren, is distinctly in the lead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.