More of this

Off on trains through leafy rural Essex till I arrived at the idyll that is Walton on the Naze. For there, there is a beguiling boat. Complete, it would seem, with some sort of bomb shelter as sprayhood - it looks like the owner has kitted it out for sailing round the world. And he’s a dab hand with plywood (he thinks). Pretty good boat under all that though and I make an offer. The guy however (who isn’t present) has recently given up on trying to sell and may wish to sail on. Hearing of my interest from the broker, he wonders whether I’d sail on with him round the south coast, up the Irish Sea, and round Scotland back to Edinburgh. Jees, I just want a boat!
Back round the sunny town and back to London to await the train north. Belgium struggle a bit, before running out as convincing winners. England struggle a bit before running out as less than convincing winners. That Kane did nothing. Apart from score two goals, obvs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.