biddy

By biddy

Gardening. Almost Midsummer.

We reach the longest day of daylight hours here in the UK on Thursday this week. June 21st. Always a bit sad to see it pass, as we are halfway through the year. 
Today I have been mostly gardening. Pruning some shrubs a little and staking the rampant roses near the summerhouse. 
     I popped into the garden centre this morning and came back with some really useful things to use for plant supports. They are proving better than my usual canes and wire! 
   I have been having to water the beds lately in the evenings. Not every night but on a regular basis as the days have been so warm and sunny recently, with the odd cooler one now and again! 
There has not been a prolonged spell of wet weather for awhile. Our water-butt is almost empty once again, as it is not being replenished. 
I am not complaining however! 
I simply love being outdoors. 
I took this photo at tea-time. Midsummer in our garden. 
As I write there is a great deal of chirping from a group of sparrows who seem to be checking out our climbing hydrangea on the porch wall! I can see the rustle of the foliage. Watch this space!   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.