horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

That London

For the most part I really dislike London. I can see the long weekend enjoyment, and I’ll be here in October with my brother for just that reason. Loads of stuff to choose to do, places to eat or drink, sights to see.

But I definitely couldn’t live here, and reckon my threshold would be about a week. Just too busy for me, amplified on this work trip by the recent stay in Achiltibuie, where there would have been as many people in the village as would cram into one carriage of the tube.

Not helped either by arriving to the news that the gents showers in Euston, after the sleeper down, were out of order. The queue for the single disabled shower in service would have taken, by a rough calculation about an hour to disappear. So I was looking forward to the prospect of a whole day sitting in a lecture room at a conference without having showered. I was saved by a check of nearby King’s Cross, and the discovery that for a fiver I could shower.

And I still had time to walk the 2.5 miles at a relaxed pace to get to the conference, thereby avoiding the tube.

A day spent in an airless and windowless room followed. No matter how interesting the subject that’s not easy going. And no time to enjoy a post conference drink as it was straight out to the airport for home. Always frustrates me to visit places and not have time to see anything. Even if this was always a brief work trip to somewhere I don’t like.

Actually, one thing I do like about London... The cyclists seem to have multiplied every time I’m back. Long may that continue.

Home soon (ish)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.