Puffins!

I finally achieved my ambition to see puffins with a trip to the Farne Islands. It’s peak breeding season so the cliffs were packed with birds..
The boat trip was great, took us right into the bottom of the cliffs and close to the other islands too.
We had been warned to wear hats or put hoods up, as the artic terns would attack as soon as we got onto the island. Sure enough, they clattered down on our heads, scary until I got used to it. I couldn’t get any photos of them as they were so fast and so close. As they were nesting right beside the path, and even on it, it was easy to get photos of the chicks with the adults.
I was really pleased to get a photo of a puffin with fish in its beak. Would have loved to have got a photo of one flying, but they were too fast for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.