Fungus on a gatepost

This picture was taken at RSPB Mereshead, Scotland on the Solway Coast. It was taken from a distance with the 400 mm prime,  because it was the only lens I had with me. I was hoping to get some bird photos,  but it was a little too windy and there weren't many birds out in the open.  
We had a lovely walk round the reserve though. The path went through  a grassy area, along the beach and then through a wood. 

 I had gone up to Scotland to visit relatives who are staying  in a holiday cottage on the beach. I hadn't realised that two of them have birthdays this week,  but then thought I would be able to get some cards from the  shop at the nearby RSPB reserve. Unfortunately, they didn't have a shop, only a small visitor centre with a couple of  helpful volunteers. They did, however, have a fund raising tombola,  so I bought tickets and kept playing the tombola until I was successful in winning two lovely cards . Sorted! :-) 

The extras is a photo of the beach near the holiday cottage. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.