Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Ringlet

A sure sign that summer is just around the corner; the Ringlets are out. 

I'd popped down to Tong Park after work as it was a warm and sunny evening.There were lots of Meadow Browns out but it wasn't until I got to the south facing bank on the other side of the Beck that I found any Ringlets, they'll be all over the place in a few days. 

The biggest surprise was finding a male Common Blue, although I couldn't catch it up to get a photo. I've only seen one down there before and that was a few years ago. It's difficult to tell if there is a small colony or whether I'm bumping into occasional strays that have wandered down the railway line from Shipley. 

Large Skippers and Speckled Wood rounded out the butterflies. There were lots of damselflies too, and the orchids have started to come out. 

Butterfly Journal 2018

22 20/06/18: Ringlet, Hollins Hall Golf Course, Hawksworth.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.