creative lenna

By creativelenna

manatees in the wild

Every so often I am lucky enough to hear the manatees coming up for air in front of our dock. Often, it is Steve who tells me he thinks they might be there and I grab my camera - Nikon CoolPix B700. I love it! I took a ton of photos on the 19th of June and this main one I think, is the most impressive. But, I am adding some other photos to the extra photos. It is such a special thing to have these beautiful sea cows come up so close. 

I believe this is the mother. There is a baby manatee, which you can see in the other photos and I am pretty sure there was a larger male with them too. Our river is rather muddy, but somehow the light was right and I got this fairly clear photo of the mom. It was a bright sunny day and the clouds were super reflective in the water! it made for interesting photos. Other encounters I've blipped are here

I promise to return to your journals as soon as I can, right now I am concentrating mostly on trying to blip the days I've missed and happily, I am almost caught up!! Thanks for your patience. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.