But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

An Interesting Rock.

This was the camera club's second skills outing, this time along the East Lothian coast, though I'm not aware that anyone was asking for much help. True, one young lady borrowed my spare tripod and the 50p needed to unite it with her camera; I usually have several of the coins in both my kit bag and my pockets as I find that they are the most satisfactory tool for tightening the screws that hold the quick release plates to the camera. Personally, I'm not a fan of the quick release method of mounting cameras to tripods as they are inconvenient when you have to change batteries which don't last terribly long on my wee cameras.

I was on my way over to see what was so fascinating about the unexceptional rock here that warranted so much concentrated attention when I suffered the embarrassment of toppling over; I don't think anybody noticed, least-ways, those present didn't take the Mickey as I would expect from that crowd. I didn't have the camera with me at the time so, apart from some minor bruising, I didn't seem to have done any damage. However, the next morning my neck was a little stiff and became worse over the next few days - a particular worry bearing in mind it's less than three weeks to the St Kilda trip. Eventually, I took the proverbial bull by the horns and put myself on the maximum dose of pain-killers accompanied by the requisite cure for the side effects, some hallucinogenic drugs that have considerable value in the school playground, and alcohol – which doesn't. The good news is that the cocktail seems to be working well and I'm now confident that, barring accidents, I'll be fit to travel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.