YorkieFife

By YorkieFife

Beautiful Lisa

Today was a meeting of a group of friends (all photographers) at a studio owned by Alan, one of the group.

There was a model arranged by Alan, and here she is! The day was meeting up, nattering and playing with lights/modifiers. A bike had been arranged too and that looked fabulous, if you're into race-bikes. We did some shooting with the lovely Lisa on the bike, but the images were very modern-glamour in feel (model on a bike is very glam to me), and looking at the results on my computer, I know why I don't often shoot glamour.

Various setups with lights were made by different people, but I wanted to do something with the gridded beauty dish and popped a pair of strip-boxes behind her, so I set this up. The egg-crates in the strip boxes ensured a very gentle line of separation from the background and the grid in the key (beauty dish) meant there was no spill past her onto the background (well, it did spill past her, but not within the field of view of the camera, so I didn't worry about that).

Goes to show that it's the control of your lighting that matters much more than the kit you're shooting with. I just happened to take the 5D2 with me today, but I'd have got the same results from the 400D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.