Cigs

By Cigs

Union Canal Towpath; between Ratho and Broxburn

An unexpected bonus! There I was on the bike, quietly heading west. I don't normally 'do' the towpath but when cycling west into the wind it's flat and treelined and offers easy penetration into the stiff breeze. I'd passed the one that remains on the metal bench at Ratho with a tinge of nostalgia; and the other 3 from out there are long gone (One languishing in a shed in Orphir no less!!) 

So having passed the zone of likelihood, my thoughts turned to Belgium v Tunisia and what score to predict for the office sweepstake. All thoughts of a Lukaku hat trick were banished in an instant as I crossed Clifton Road and there was a red Cigs! The guy who was tailing me, trying to take advantage of my slipstream nearly ended up in the canal (no one does that apart from Pensioner, right?) such was the suddenness of my stop.

A smile and a whoop and a blip and I was back on my way to buy Tom a hoodie, grab me a flat white and head on back into town with a tail wind and some serious speed. The back nine was a blast. 

And if only Lukaku had taken the penalty instead of Hazard...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.