The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Davy Lamp

About a week ago I blipped a photo of The Lady With The Lamp in Tonypandy, here is another lamp connected with the Glamorgan Collery.

This is my Grandfather, Wilfred Cecil House's, actual Davy Lamp he used down that pit. I bet it has seen some history down there.

My mum has it now, as my grandfather has long since passed on. It's one of those regrets in life that I wish I had time and the understanding back then to ask him of his time during the second world war and working at the height of coal mining in the Rhondda Valley.

We went to mum and dads for Sunday Roast. Dad is not too bad all things considering. He is growing a Mo .. the November Moustache thing for raising awareness for mens health issues. I've not seen dad with a moustache since the mid eighties! I'll link his homepage in a future blip if anyone wants to give a couple of quid!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.