Nothing happens here...

By StuartDB

Port Appin RIP

Port Appin is no more.  The last version was started in 2007.  It had a rebuild and tidy up a couple of years ago but it was never living up to my expectations.  There were many shortfalls that I could crop out of most photographs and some flaws that you never saw - or weren't meant to!

MrsDB is the villain of the piece, she was forever bemoaning the fact that the room was tip, a place for dust and dirt to gather, a haven for filth, germs, bits of egg sandwiches and spilled beer.  As if...

The carpet fitter has measured the room, the blind man has the new shutters ready and waiting, the joiner has bought the new wall units and the decorator arrives on Monday.  My beloved has already exceeded the budget I set by insisting the new carpet was more than £4 a square metre and that I had underlay for it.  

In the picture you can see the blue bit where PA was bolted to the wall but to the left is an area where I assembled and stored all the bits and pieces that gathered the muck and junk.  The dirty Pollyfilla'd wall is the result of 22 years of model railways being fitted along it and screw holes from various TV brackets, timber bracing and things I can't remember!

And what about the New Port Appin?  Well it'll start to be rebuilt in the Autumn and I'm looking forward to all the preparation, research and reconstruction.  I'll have to get it through Planning first though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.