Our new resident

For the past few days the dogs have been barking at the small wall that runs from the small patio to the other wall that goes right across the width of the garden.
We thought that maybe it was mice, or maybe even a rats, nest so this morning I put my gloves on and carefully scraped away the load of ivy leaves that are between the fence and the brick.
Lo and behold, it is a large hedgehog. He's ok because when I moved the foliage he moved, made his ball tighter and did it again when I showed Marlane where he was.
We've put a small folding table against the brick so the dogs can't get to where he is, the barking must have terrified him/her.

Thing is, I have no idea how he got into the garden. When we got Foxy 9 years ago we had to put stiff wire netting across the bottom of the gate because he is small enough to get under the gap. We always used to get hedgehogs in the garden but this one is the first I've seen for 9 years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.