Yesnaby (Day 1145)

Today dawned much brighter than yesterday, and whilst my beautiful wife chased the hoover around, I spent a little while in the shed putting the finishing touches on the carving commission. As always, there came a point when I just had to stop and call it finished. There are always going to be little bits which I could fiddle with to make it look better, but there comes a time to say enough.
After coffee, we headed for Stromness where we met Silverback and the lovely Legs for a bit of lunch and a trip out to Yesnaby. HV and I met Silverback through blip, and he thought he should come and see Orkney for himself and take some better pics of this landscape than I have managed. It was like meeting up with old friends as we blethered over lunch, then walked along the clifftops at Yesnaby. After the dreich, greyness of yesterday, today was a perfect day for Yesnaby. 
HV and I always enjoy showing people our favourite places, especially when people really "get" what we feel about this beautiful island. There were many shouts of "Oh wow" as another view appeared.
We had to cut the wandering a bit short as HV needed to check on the horses before returning home and getting ready for work, but we will see Silverback and Legs sometime over the next week.
At home, there was just time to get the stone off the bench and washed down ready to load into the van when extra assistance arrives later. I may post a pic of it when it is delivered.
Today has been a great day.
(Extra of Silverback having had another "wow" moment)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.