si_b

By si_b

Silly Saturday

Ok - so bear with me on this one - looong explanation.

For my birthday my brother-in-law bought me a ticket to Blade Runner @ Secret Cinema. This is an immersive cinema experience, where you enter the world of Blade Runner ( or "Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep ?" - by Phillip K. Dick for the true purists ;-) ) - as a character in the story with an objective and place according to your role. I was cast as an "Undercover Detective with the LAPD" with the associated tasks of digging for information and tracking of individuals. The whole thing is based around you not knowing what is going to happen, and, to that end, I won't tell you much more that this - other than to say that it's great fun, and I'd thoroughly recommend it ! I think the most gratifying part was when I was told that some bloke thought that I was one of the acting staff, rather than a customer - so I think I must have played my role right :-P

One of the fundamental story setups was this though:

"Due to rising concerns about the security and stability of cryptocurrencies - in light of the threat of a possible terrorist logic-bomb attack of the crypto data banks - visitors to the World Terminus district have started swapping memories in place of traditional currency. Rumours exist that police officers, Utopia staff, Tyrell employees and venue bouncers have all been taking photo bribes around the district for various reasons of gain."


As such we were all asked to bring some physical photos with us. Now, I don't actually do much in the way of "physical" photos - or at least not ones that I would want to give away ! So, in preparation I picked up the Polaroid and a pack of film and took it with me - stopping and taking the occasional photo along the way into Canning Town, London from Oxfordshire - above are some of the shots taken along the way ;-) 


My personal particular favourite is the one in the middle, taken in the usual genius way of looking into the lens of a camera, while pressing the shutter button when it doesn't work - as if you can see what the problem will be - only for the camera to promptly start operating exactly as it should and take a great pic of the top you your head :-P Silly Saturday material right there !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.