Ashleyn15g

By Ashleyn15g

Valet Parking & Clifford Franklin

Melissa and Cara got up early to head down to Six Flags. Juaquin and I decided to order breakfast from the same place as the day before because it was so delicious! 
 
We loafed around and discussed our day's plan. Go meet Orlando Jones, and then head to Jourdanton to visit with his family and play games. 
 
The weekend has been an amazing experience, and I was so grateful. Nothing seemed like it could put a damper on our pure happiness until we were checking out. $105 for valet parking! My jaw dropped. 
 
Now, Juaquin and I are very blessed, but it’s never fun to feel taken advantage of. To make matters worse we tried to dispute it saying we only had two vehicles at $35, so it should have been $70. “Huh,” he said, “looks like you need another charge then because the fee is daily. You stayed 2 nights with two vehicles, meaning four charges. Oh, why hadn’t we kept our mouth shut! $140 for valet! 
 
Later we realized that Cara and Melissa hadn’t parked until nearly midnight, which was probably why they only charged us 3 times, but we sure did pay for four. Our response should have been “oh well” but as we waited for twenty minutes for the valet to retrieve our vehicle, I just stewed. 
 
To make matters worse, we drove across the street to park and they had changed the rate from $8 to $20. At this point, we were both frustrated, irrational, and at each other’s throats. 
 
We nearly just went home, but I am so glad we didn’t. We took a deep breath and ate the $20 and went back into the comicpalooza. 
 
Orlando Jones was hilarious. While we were waiting in line, we noticed how great he was with his fans. Juaquin was actually getting one of the autographs for Luis, when I got the idea to have him video chat Luis, who uses his characters name in the Replacement for his fantasy football team. 
 
Juaquin and I couldn’t stop laughing as we surprised Luis and watched Orlando give him a hard time about the copyright issues while quoting scenes from the movie. 


I was also able to grab mom a shirt she wanted from Dim & Witt, and had them sign it for her. And we were able to go to the board gaming lounge and purchase Munchkins to play when we got to Juaquin's parent's apartment.
 

On our way out, I stopped at an artist table. She had the most adorable painting style, and better yet she painted pink elephants, which is Ella's nursery theme (Genevievesantos.com). I bought two watercolor paintings and a few stickers. I love them so much! 


I fell asleep on the drive home. Game night was a super lot of fun! Munchkins always pits Juaquin and I, against each other. Juaquin was extremely mean during the first round. My first move of the second was to kill his mount. I don't regret it at all! 


What a great weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.