Impostor!

At first I thought it was a very small worker bumblebee. The fuzz and the light and dark stripes were about right, but the shiny black belt was suspicious.  Then there was something about the way it moved. It didn't bumble its way from flower to flower as you'd expect a bumblebee to do. It darted smartly to a flower and hovered above it for a moment before settling.  In the flower it behaved much the same as a bumblebee does, until it darted away with such speed I couldn't see where it went.

It was so hard to focus on because of its speed.  Then it darted between three clumps of flowers spread over about four metres.  My shadow kept getting in the way.  At last I nailed it and was able to get a closer look at it on my computer screen.  It was a fly! Obviously a hover fly of some sort. It was about the same size as a drone, to which it is possibly related.

Edit: Thanks to mollyblobs who has identified this fly as a large narcissus fly Merodon equestris.  See her comment below.


I was surprised by a small rabbit as I walked out the door.  It was surprised by me.  A cute little thing, but I hope it isn't intending to stay.  I'm quite selfish about my green vegetables.

Extra Shot: Blue tractor in landscape.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.