Steve Kirkham

By SteveKirkham

Back to School

Last year there was a series on TV about people of 70-100+ who were still driving. They took a selection of people from around the country and sent them on a drive with an examiner from, I think, RoSPA.

I was quite surprised at the standard of driving of some of them, but, it got me thinking. Am I the safe driver I think I am? At least I don't have Beloved screaming her head off when she's in the car so I can't be that bad, or my driving scares her witless.

I hunted around to see if I could do something similar, not on TV though. There were a number of places I could have gone, but they charge quite a bit. Eventually I found Mileage for Life, organised by the Lincolnshire Road Safety Partnership, and was free.

It's done in two parts, a theory and a practical. I was supposed to do it in March, but it was cancelled because of the weather.

So today was the theory part. I admit I wasn't looking forward to it as I was really only interested in the practical which I'm doing om Thursday, but it was interesting and I really enjoyed it.

The biggest downer of the day was the price of parking. To park in either of the 2 nearest car parks would have cost me £8. Eight quid, that's 6 months beer money to me. Bloody scandalous. I ended up parking in the Broadgate car park for a fiver.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.