The Professional!

A lovely hot, sunny morning, so we had a leisurely breakfast outside.  The butter had to stay under the table in the shade, it was melting so fast!  Mike and Eion went sailing, see extra, and I did some housework then took Ollie for a paddle and a breezy walk up the hill.  See extra again!

As we came down the field I could hear voices in our garden.  And there were people sitting there!  It was local gardening trail organiser Caroline and this lady, professional gardener photographer and writer Nicola Stocken.  

Nicola is in Orkney taking photos of seaside gardens.  She and Caroline had taken my washing line down, neatly folding the washing as they did so, and she was busy, crouching in the borders, taking lots of photos.  It was a lovely surprise.  I knew she was coming to Orkney, but I didn't know she was coming here today!  

Caroline whisked Nicola's husband away and Nicola spent the next hour and a half clicking away, chatting the while.  She was so easy to get on with and as well as being interested in the garden, she was really interesting to talk to.  She was very enthusiastic and positive about the planting and the colours, and loved the views over the bay.  Hopefully she will an article or two from it, so I will keep my eyes on my email inbox just in case!

Spent the rest of the afternoon with H, digging up ragwort, tractor driving, bagging haylage and riding four ponies!  What a day! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.