Gaeltacht 2

A scorcher of a day. After  large breakfast (though our hostess was disappointed that we didn't want the full fry!) I dropped Himself off In Béal Átha 'n Ghorthaidh  (Ballingeary) and went off in search of the Well of the Quaking Bog!  I had high hopes for a well with such a name and it had all sorts of saintly connections and stories attached but sadly it was  impossible to get anywhere near, so dense were the briars and nettles. To console myself I went to a well I had been to before to eat my cheese and apple.  When I arrived, it was heaving - a tour party of Americans and a tour guide who could talk for Ireland! I think they were on some sort of mythical mystery tour and the guide knew his stuff when it came to myths but it all got a bit surreal once the spirit guides were mentioned. He had a bear and an eagle apparently and both sounded terrifying.

I met Himself back in Baile Bhúirne and we enjoyed a large ice cream. He had already immersed his feet in the local river and showed me the spot. It was heavenly. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.