ADA

By ADA

My Dad

This is a pencil drawing my son did for me of my Dad for my 50th birthday. Sadly he passed away in the February before my birthday in June.
The title "A Gentle Man" is how we all felt about him. He was a great Dad, playful with a glint in his eye, his family was his life(with 6 children, 16 grandchildren and 10 great-grandchildren he was kept busy). He loved Mum so much, he even told the doctors when they were assessing his memory that she was The QUEEN. He always walked on the road side putting Mum on the inside, he opened doors for her, even at the end he wouldn't get in the car till she was in and settled.
I don't know why, but he has been in my thoughts all day, his cheeky grin and sparkly eyes.
The sketch is of a photo taken on Windermere. He was gleeful that day.
I miss him so much but have so many happy, funny, anxious as well as sad memories of this " Gentle Man".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.