An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

The Golf Green...

Looking up over and onto one of the greens at Warminster Golf Club, earlier, as the weather was clearing ( a bit - it clouded over again after an hour or so).

The footpath that goes up onto the Imber perimeter path, skirts the base of the course and the other direction is a wonderful view back down the valley and the other hills that surround the town.

Warminster is also an Army barrack town on the south-western edge of Salisbury Plain which starts just beyond those spindly little trees in my pic. The reds flags were flying, so no access allowed and the sound of muffled rifle and other fire occasionally - but persistently - polluted the sonic landscape.

I got some of my best autumnal shots of beech trees this year, from a big clump just along from here but I decided that I had already put up a couple of autumn pics up on Blip and a number of landscapes very recently and I simply had to get back to my trademark patterny-abstract graphic shape sort, so here we are!

The flag here, which is essential to the composition, is on an actual green, but this one was deserted. I have to add that I actually rather dislike golf, though I haven't actually ever tried it - to my mind, I might have the equivalent value of a good set of clubs in my camera gear, but I go a lot further and get more use and (hopefully) bring pleasure to others than just bashing at little white balls in the undergrowth!

Yes, I could have done a black & white one but I still wanted it light and fresh and wanted to post up relatively quickly. The Tamron SP 70-300mm (the good, top of their range one) at its widest, on DX crop D70000 plus a crop from the top to balance the base.

I also took some others, mostly horizontal, with that grey whispy cloud, moving much more quickly across the frame but this one gave more height to the trees.

Anyway, I liked it at the time - and still do!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.