Bus Challenge No 147!

Prior Park Landscape Gardens, Bath

Today’s challenge was to find somewhere cool and shady to go for a walk with my BC friend, so Prior Park Gardens it was!

Waiting for my first bus first thing this morning, the weather was actually unexpectedly cloudy and cool, but by the time we’d taken a second bus up into the hills to the south of the city, the cloud had started to thin, and by the time we were walking back down into the city, the day was heating up again, with temperatures reaching 28 degrees this afternoon.

As per the aim of my Bus Challenges, I learned something new today, discovering the role Ralph Allen’s 18th century ice house played during WW2, providing a secret hideout for the British resistance. If you’re interested in learning more, here’s a link: https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/prior-park-landscape-garden/features/prior-park-landscape-gardens-ice-house

Total bus journey times = 1 hour 12 mins (Very heavy traffic in Bath today)

(I think I’ve blipped every possible angle of the garden’s famous Palladian Bridge before, so today I thought I’d give you a taste of what else there is to see in the gardens, though it seems that that pesky bridge has still managed to sneak its way in!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.