Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Strudel

Bike ✔️

Another go on the bike, even though I find it more painful on my knees than the cross trainer. In fact, I wonder if indeed it's good for them. Perhaps I should hold off until I see my surgeon... though the Green Wing really does help.

We were expecting a delivery between 1 and 2 pm, which meant we had to hang around at home, but as soon as it arrived we shot off east to Haddington to our favourite Waterside Pub (Extra 1) and give the new car a whirl along the motorway.

Turns out, Archie feels the new car is much like the old car, or any car (though not buses) and he was sick. Luckily he was at my feet and we could do the old poo bag trick.

However, he always forgets his misery as soon as we arrive, and he gambolled off to the river for a deep paddle. We spied a free outside table at the pub, and so went there first. We shared a very nice mezze board before coming back over the river and going for a walk. Archie then seemed to have a spurt of energy and ran around and between us like a mad thing, even in the sun.

We walked into town to find 'Falko' - a favourite (German) cafe, but the cafe in Bruntsfield has sadly closed. We found it (NO thanks to Google Maps!) and what a peaceful haven it is - NO MUZAK. And of course, their vast array of cakes and strudels and rhubarb tarts and strudels... I had a strudel (Extra 2). I had forgotten how large the servings are, and struggled (very slightly) to finish it. Very dog friendly too - Archie was attended to before us - water bowl, biscuits hand fed to him by a charming young waiter. Excellent.

Back in time to watch the England game, which was pretty boring. JR is thoroughly fed up with all this sport. I won’t tell her Wimbledon starts next week...

Archie wasn’t sick on the way home!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.