The wearing of the green

A common emerald. Not so common for me - I think it's the first time I've seen a green moth. It started me wondering why there aren't more green moths and butterflies, seeing as they spend so much time around plants. The answer seems to be that recognition by means of striking or colourful markings is more important than camouflage once the insect has reached the final imago stage. Its  priority is to propagate rather than to survive so advertising for a mate takes precedence over concealment. Many caterpillars by contrast are green. They need to survive in order to reach maturity.

Searching for explanation, I came across a thought-provoking discussion about green insects in this blog, which I recommend for anyone who wants to pursue the matter. The comments are particularly interesting. I find it endlessly fascinating to be able to tap into the knowledge and ideas of like-minded people with more expertise than myself. One of the joys of the internet age.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.