Desperately seeking

By clickychick

30 Days Wild - 27 - Polyommatus icarus

The month is flying by fast, so many busy days!

Today The Mate and I went over to the coast to see the accountant about  his workshop and our studio. This annual event is usually marked by going for a paddle in the Solway and getting fish and chips at Allonby.

I assumed I would have no difficulty getting a wild blip. The trouble was, everything I wanted was a bit too fast for me! The lovely lilac or deep brown butterflies kept vanishing. I finally realised why. They close their wings on landing and show a disruptive cream and brown pattern, so hard to spot amongst the dry grasses of the dunes.

The one in the blip is the female Common Blue and in the Extras I've but a bad flying shot of the strikingly coloured male.

In the other blips is a bird this intrepid wildlife photographer stalked with the Land Rover, I think it's a Eurasian skylark. Then I didn't realise how interesting the other thing was until I got home and saw it on the screen - something about to emerge, but what?

I have spared you the shot of the dead gannet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.