Robin La Roca's journal

By robinlaroca

Reflecting on the journey home

The view from (and, in part, of) the C2 bus as we rounded Berkeley Square this evening.

Berkeley Square always makes me think of Dad's Army. When I was 10 we went to London to see the Dad's Army stage musical, with all the original cast (and how sad to hear of the passing of Clive Dunn yesterday, and how nice to see smiles whenever his face appeared on the TV news). And the bit I always remember is the wonderful John Le Mesurier as Sgt Wilson, lazily singing, well, speaking "A Nightingale Sang In Berkeley Square". Beautiful.

I don't think there was ever a record of it, but somewhere, via a real Dad's Army completist some years later, I've got a cassette recording of a whole show. Must dig that out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.