Forty winks

I have never taken any exercise, except sleeping and resting, and I never intend to take any. Exercise is loathsome. And it cannot be any benefit when you are tired; I was always tired.

The day of training goes well. I head across to their main canteen at lunchtime through a wide, glass lined corridor, that snakes through lush woodland. The few unglazed surfaces sport huge pieces of art. The canteen is excellent, too. The whole place oozes wealth.

After tidying up, I head for Callum’s outside Ann Arbor. All the traffic is heading north, so the journey is fast and easy. Callum’s place is large, comfortably nestled among copious trees, up a short, steep drive.

It turns out to be seven years since he visited me with Yasmin and Lilly. I’m astonished - it doesn’t seem that long ago. Lots to talk about, although there are the usual “Yes, I know. I read it in your blip” comments.

We go into Ann Arbor for tea at Slurp, a noodle bar. It’s a low-rise, university town. The streets are teaming with people, but the busiest place is a garden centre, that has repurposed its outside areas as a bar.

Back at the ranch, we crack into the duty-free. The air-con is purring away, but we sit in the open air porch, protected from the night by mesh screens, as the sun falls, the talk flows and the bottle empties.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.