The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Black Combe

A different view of the sunset. This was from Heysham Head looking across the vastness of Morecambe Bay to Black Combe at the southwest end of the Lake District fells. The three figures tentatively wading into the tidal waters on the right give some sense of scale. It had been another blistering hot day, and unusually the slight breeze was coming off the land rather than from the bay as would usually be the case. Wifie had some business to attend to locally, so it was a chance for all three of us to go somewhere different for Gus's evening walk. Alas, the chough that was here during the winter has long since disappeared, the theory being that he fell prey to the peregrines resident on the nuclear power station.

This is the first blip in over three months. My sincere apologies to those blip friends who have been concerned about me, some leaving enquiring messages on the last few blips. I can assure them that I am fine. It wasn't my original intention to have such a prolonged break, initially I was just having a few days rest, then I went away to Extremadura for a couple of weeks where we had no access to the internet. And since then I have simply fallen out of the rhythm of taking photographs and uploading them. I've also needed time away from computers and iPads, and after my illness of the last couple of years I have been enjoying being outside those days when I am not working.

I am posting this as an update and to dispel any concerns for my wellbeing, and to let my friends know that I shall probably continue my blip break until the Autumn when the nights are lengthening. In the meantime I shall be enjoying the long evenings out. For those who are interested in Gus's welfare, he is well and having his walks in the early morning and the late evening when the temperatures are more favourable to a dog with a thick fur coat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.