Emma D's diary

By EmmaDrabble

At home: Stopped for a moment by god light!

Its been a back to back rushed day. When I say that, I mean that as soon as my feet touched the carpet this morning I was rushing around and busy. The children were fast tracked into breakfast club, so that I could get to the wood yard and complete nine deliveries by 3pm. I had passed a beautiful tribe of travellers, with their bow tops and horses 3 times today. That should have been my blip. But I was rushing. I would never have engaged in conversation or pointed a camera without offering something in return anyway. Perhaps some eggs, or something. Its disrespectful otherwise, to take and not give back.

As soon as I landed home, a quick first cuppa and then out to clean out the chickens. As a wheel barrowed the clean straw up the garden, I dropped a wedge of it on the grass. If it wasn't for dropping the straw, I don't think I would have stopped and seen the light beaming through the clouds, behind me. So I stopped and absorbed it for a short while.

It occurred to me the slow pace of life that the travellers lead. Yes its a hard life. But the difference is they are going slow enough to see the beauty of life. They live with the elements and engage with it first hand in a way that conventionalised types would struggle to comprehend. The two couldn't be more opposite. I saw angry drivers trying to pass at speed and peaceful faces of the travellers, smiling back at me as I slowed to let them past. A knowing peaceful smile on a weatherbeaten face. The face that has seen many more god light's than I have x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.