Tip Toe Through the Lavender

I was heading home today, so I got up early and left at 8am as I didn't want to spend the day in the car again.  Even leaving at that time there was a lot of traffic on the road and it was particularly slow on the M25 again.  I saw an accident on the North bound carriageway which looked like it involved numerous cars and a horse trailer which was facing in the wrong direction - hope everyone was ok, including the horses!

I decided to take a slight detour and visited Mayfield Lavender Farm in Banstead.  I've blipped photos from here before but it's lovely to see the rows of lavender, and on a day like today it could easily be mistaken for being in Provence. It was so busy though, and very difficult to get any decent photos as there were people everywhere, including Harry and Megan!  (see my extra)   This little girl in the white dress kept 'photobombing' my photos, but as you can imagine, I was more than happy as she's made my blip!

I spent an hour there and then resumed my journey home and by this time the traffic was a lot calmer and I got back about 2.15pm.  Alan had been out to some gun shops this morning and arrived home a bit before me and was watching the F1 qualifying, then once it had finished we went out for a walk.

The car was showing that it was 28 degrees when I got home, but by the time we went out I think it was hotter than that.  There's quite a breeze coming across the fields into our garden but as soon as we got away from the breeze it felt extremely hot, and it was very still down at the beach!

We walked to Molly's and sat and had a shandy before heading home and I got straight in the hot tub, which wasn't too hot, so nicely relaxing.  I was going to do a BBQ but it's now quite windy so I'm cooking the food in the oven and then we'll go back outside - The Palace is also open and is cooling down, Alan said it was about 50 degrees in there!

I'd better go and check on the food, so wish you all a happy weekend  and I'll try and catch up with you later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.