Rags of light

By CarolG1

Peace be with you

We visited Hiroshima today. It hadn't been on my list of places to visit, as I thought it would be too depressing, but it was a scheduled stop on our tour. I'm so glad I went there as it confounded my expectations and I learnt a great deal. It's a green and vibrant city which has rebuilt itself in the aftermath of the A bomb. Both the Peace Museum and the Peace Park were fascinating places. The Park was full of schoolkids from Osaka who were doing a project on Hiroshima. They had to find foreigners and ask questions about why they'd come there. Here's one group who buttonholed Karen just when she thought she'd have a quiet five minutes sitting on a bench. They were all absolutely charming and very earnest. The whole experience left us feeling very uplifted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.