Why should the swans have all the fun ?

Shugborough Hall opens fully at 11.00 but the Park is open from 9.00. On a hot morning like this, what better to head over there for a walk in reasonable temperatures.

The sheep were playing up; there was a squirrel on the steps of the Mansion, not impressed that a few humans had strayed into her territory. Two herons and quite a few butterflies (Small Tortoiseshell, Comma, whites - various) and a buzzard were in evidence. I had lots of photos and a fabulous walk.

Then I reached Essex Bridge to find how the locals make the most of our heatwave. It took me back to my childhood in North Staffordshire. Landlocked, we headed for the river when it was hot......

There were several dogs swimming and fetching sticks, and quite a few humans splashing and cooling off. (I was tempted)

Then a family of swans arrived. No problem. The dogs paused and watched as the cygnets gently sailed past.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.