Wasp spider.....

I went to Knepp hideously early this morning in hope of seeing more Purple emperors, but it is hot ( even at 7.30AM) and the cows are elswhere at the moment, so no nice smelly cow dung so they stayed up in the trees and I just got bitten by the Cleggs! 
A chap I saw in one of the fields assured me the Purple Hairstreaks were in the grass, but when I looked all I saw was this tiny ~6-7mm yellowish spider, but it looked interesting so I got down in the grass to take a closer look... I am so glad I did because it was actually an immature female Wasp Spider Argiope bruennichi, I could see this by her colouring, but if that wasn't enough to convince me her web with it's tell tale 'ladder effect' was a clincher! I shall certainly be looking for her again later in the summer. I have added a shot of a very obliging Gatekeeper butterfly Pyronia tithonus as an extra, 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.