my eyes they cannot lie

By girlsonfilm

Send me the pillow...the one that you dream on...

A night engrossed in the vinyl I was gifted so very very kindly last weekend.

I am thrilled to have some Smiths and Morrissey records back in my clammy hands once again.

As per Kate tradition...I shall be putting some of the sleeves on the wall. In frames this time as opposed to sellotaping them of course... What am I? 16 again with black walls? ;-)

I had forgotten completely about the etching that Moz used to mark the vinyl with...reading them again brought back such memories of being 17 and having the best quiff around for miles.

Obviously, it's Thursday and I had a bit of a nap after work...so the etching on the B- side of "I Started Something I Couldn't Finish" was quite apt.

YOU ARE BELIEVING, YOU DO NOT WANT TO SLEEP

A reversal of "You are sleeping, you do not want to believe" from The Smiths song "Rubber Ring"

Blip! You can just about see 'believing' It is monumentally difficult to photograph shiny vinyl!

B-Side is Pretty Girls Make Graves and Some Girls are Bigger Than Others.

My current Rome / Sleep addiction made the latter's lyrics seems particularly apposite.

As Anthony said to Cleopatra
As he opened a crate of ale :

Oh, I say :
Some girls are bigger than others
Some girls are bigger than others
Some girl's mothers are bigger than
Other girl's mothers

Send me the pillow ...
The one that you dream on ...
Send me the pillow ...
The one that you dream on ...
And I'll send you mine


Sleep well K x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.