Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

I'm so happy this day is over! 
Early morning, off to the tran station, so tired I could fall asleep... not good on this day! At least it was easy to buy the ticket and I got my old card refilled with money so I could just 'blip' it and go. 
I came an hour early, or rather 30 minutes early since they wanted us to be at the location 30 minutes before the test started. The girl in the reception signed me in and then there was nothing else to do than wait. She talked loudly on her mobile with her boyfriend about something. I heard that there'd been a fire at the place they were going on vacation to. She was mixing Swedish and English with him and I thought that a tiny bit odd...but, some people do that. He was Swedish - I got to hear his voice in another phone call were she put him on speaker because she needed her hands... I've worked as a receptionist and I would never, ever ever take a private phone call when there're guests around... Or not even when there weren't. I'd do it on my break. 
Then we got checked for writings on the arms and ankles, we had to empty our pockets and turn them inside out and flatten our backpockets. The only things we got to take with us was the locker key and id. She even checked my glasses for camera equipment... She also told us that we were surveilled by cameras inside the test room.
The test was as I expected. The first part was the easies one... then came the math and although I recognised some of the exercises I'd practiced, the time pressure got to me. And the calculator I had on my station misbehaved, so I missed precious seconds trying to do that calculation over and over again and coming up with nothing. Fortunately there was a calculator on the computer too, so I used that. The last exercises was more of a guessing game since I had but seconds to do 3 exercises. Then came the logical stuff and... that was really difficult too! It was really hard to get some kind of 'rule' to how the figures moved around. And finally the part were there's a question about a situation and you have to pick the least effective and the most effective approach from four alternatives. The last exercise... it's mostly to think about hierarki and how the employees work together. I had a bit of time left on that one, and on the first one, but math and logic - the two most important - I ran out of time and had to guess to make all of the questions. 
On my way to the train station I took lots of photos of this special hotel tower. The surface is just amazing, and it shifts in colours. I've been wanting to take photos of it for years, and finally got my chance. :)
It'll take some months until I get my result from the test, but I'm certain that I've failed and when I was waiting for the train home I decided I would try again. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.